State Affiliate Websites

Frank Knight

When you think of coaching in Little Athletics, you think fondly of Frank Knight.

Frank joined Arana Little Athletics Centre in 1980 with his three children. He was an accomplished sprinter and hurdler in his junior days, and he immediately offered his services to the Centre as a sprints and hurdles coach.

He coached and managed LAQ’s coaching camps and clinics held around the State for approximately 20 years and was a great mentor for many up and coming coaches. He also attended a number of Australian Little Athletics Championships as a State Team coach.

Frank was a course presenter for the Australian Track and Field Coaches Association, (ATFCA) an organisation where many Little Athletics coaches began their humble coaching beginnings.

Frank joined the LAQ Board as Coaching Manager in 1985 and he continued in the role as Coaching Manager / Director until his passing in 2006. He remains the longest serving Board member in LAQ history, with over 21 years of service.

Beyond Little Athletics, Frank was heavily involved in senior athletics. He was a regular on the start panel at Queensland Athletics and Athletics Australia events and he officiated at a number of International Championships including the Sydney Olympic Games, Sydney Paralympic Games and Goodwill Games in Brisbane.

As well as being awarded a Life Member of Arana LAC, Frank was awarded with LAQ’s Distinguished Merit Award in 1992 for his service at Centre, Zone (Region) and State level. He was then honoured with LAQ Life Membership in 2003, for the highly meritorious service he gave towards the growth and development of Little Athletics.

Frank was a tremendous servant to Little Athletics and to the sport of athletics in general. Sadly, he passed away in 2006 shortly before he was due to head to Melbourne as an official for the Commonwealth Games. His legacy will live on through LAQ’s Coach of the Year Award. Following Frank’s passing, this award was renamed in his honour to the Frank Knight Memorial Coach of the Year Award.